Voir le traité - F100418

Si vous ne pouvez accéder au document, veuillez communiquer par courriel à l'adresse suivante : info.jli@international.gc.ca, pour obtenir un nouveau texte en format HTML.
F1OO418

F100418 - RTC 1950 No 3

 


TRAITÉ ENTRE LE CANADA ET LES ÉTATS-UNIS D’AMÉRIQUE CONCERNANT LA DÉRIVATION DES EAUX DU NIAGARA

 

Le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique, reconnaissant l’obligation primordiale qui leur incombe de préserver et de rehausser la beauté panoramique des chutes et de la rivière Niagara, et d’autre part l’intérêt commun qu’ils ont, tout en respectant cette obligation, à assurer l’utilisation la plus avantageuse des eaux de cette rivière,

Considérant que la quantité d’eau qui peut être détournée du Niagara pour la production d’énergie électrique est actuellement fixée par l’article V du Traité concernant les eaux limitrophes du Canada et des États-Unis d’Amérique, signé à Washington le 11 janvier 1909 par la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis d’Amérique, et par des notes échangées entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique en 1940, 1941 et 1948 autorisant à titre de mesures d’urgence des dérivations temporaires additionnelles,

Reconnaissant que l’énergie à bon marché qui est disponible dans le nord-est des États-Unis et le sud-est du Canada ne suffit pas actuellement aux besoins actuels et éventuels de ces régions, et considérant que les eaux du Niagara peuvent être utilisées en plus grande quantité et avec plus d’efficacité que ne le permet l’accord international actuel,

Désireux de mettre fin au gaspillage de cette grande richesse naturelle et de permettre au Canada et aux États-Unis d’exploiter à parts égales, pour le bénéfice de leurs populations respectives, les eaux du Niagara qui sont disponibles pour la production d’énergie, et,

Se rendant compte qu’il ne serait pas sage de réorganiser les aménagements hydro-électriques du Niagara, au Canada et aux États-Unis d’Amérique, tant que le volume total pouvant être détourné pour servir à la production hydro-électrique n’aura pas été autorisé d’une façon définitive et que toutes les restrictions sur l’utilisation de ces eaux n’auront pas fait l’objet d’un accord,

Ont résolu de conclure un traité à ces fins et ont désigné à cet effet pour leurs plénipotentiaires :

Le Canada :

H. H. Wrong, ambassadeur extraordinaire et ministre plénipotentiaire du Canada aux États-Unis d’Amérique, et,

Les États-Unis d’Amérique :

Dean Acheson, secrétaire d’État des États-Unis d’Amérique,

Lesquels, après s’être communiqué mutuellement leurs pleins pouvoirs, trouvés en bonne et due forme, sont convenus des articles suivants :

 

ARTICLE I

Le présent traité abroge les troisième, quatrième et cinquième paragraphes de l’article V du traité, en date du 11 janvier 1909 entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis d’Amérique, relatifs aux eaux limitrophes et aux questions de frontières se posant entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique, ainsi que les dispositions incorporées dans les notes échangées à Washington entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique le 20 mai 1941, le 27 octobre 1941, le 27 novembre 1941 et le 23 décembre 1948 au sujet de dérivations temporaires des eaux du Niagara pour fins de production d’énergie électrique.

 

ARTICLE II

Le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique conviennent de complémenter, en conformité des objectifs envisagés dans le rapport final présenté au Canada et aux États-Unis d’Amérique le 11 décembre 1929 par la Commission spéciale internationale du Niagara, les ouvrages de protection qui sont nécessaires pour embellir les chutes en distribuant les eaux de façon à faire tomber de la crête de la cataracte une nappe d’eau ininterrompue. Le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique prieront la Commission internationale des eaux limitrophes de formuler des recommandations quant à la nature et à la forme exacte de ces ouvrages de protection et à la répartition des travaux de construction entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique. Lorsque le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique auront approuvé ces recommandations, les travaux de construction seront entrepris conformément aux dites recommandations, sous la surveillance de la Commission internationale des eaux limitrophes, et devront être terminés au plus tard quatre ans après la date à laquelle le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique auront approuvé lesdites recommandations. Le prix total des travaux sera divisé également entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique.

 

ARTICLE III

Le volume d’eau qui sera disponible pour les fins mentionnées aux articles IV et V du présent Traité sera constitué du débit total du lac Érié jusqu’au canal Welland et à la rivière Niagara (y compris le canal Black Rock), moins la quantité d’eau utilisée et nécessaire pour des fins domestiques et sanitaires et pour le service des canaux de navigation. Les eaux qui sont détournées dans le bassin naturel du système des Grands Lacs par les aménagements existants de Long-Lac-Ogoki continueront d’être régies par les notes échangées à Washington les 14 et 31 octobre et le 7 novembre 1940 entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique, et ne seront pas comprises dans les eaux attribuées en vertu des dispositions du présent Traité.

 

ARTICLE IV

Afin de garder dans la rivière Niagara des quantités d’eau suffisantes pour la préservation du paysage, les dérivations mentionnées à l’article III du présent Traité pour fins de production hydro-électrique ne devront pas réduire le débit des chutes Niagara à moins de cent mille pieds cubes par seconde durant le jour, entre 8 heures du matin (heure normale de l’Est) et 10 heures du soir (heure normale de l’Est), pendant la période de chaque année commençant le 1er avril et se terminant le 15 septembre, inclusivement, ou à moins de cent mille pieds cubes par seconde chaque jour entre 8 heures du matin et 8 heures du soir (heure normale de l’Est), pendant la période de chaque année commençant le 16 septembre et se terminant le 31 octobre, inclusivement, ou à moins de cinquante mille pieds cubes par seconde en tout autre temps; la quantité minimum de cinquante mille pieds cubes par seconde sera augmentée lorsqu’une quantité d’eau additionnelle sera nécessaire pour chasser la glace au-dessus des chutes ou dans les rapides du pied des chutes. Il ne sera fait aucune dérivation des quantités d’eau destinées, aux termes du présent article, à se déverser par les chutes pour servir à la production d’énergie hydro-électrique entre les chutes et le lac Ontario.

 

ARTICLE V

Toute l’eau mentionnée à l’article III du présent Traité, en excédent du volume réservé pour les besoins du paysage à l’article IV, peut être détournée pour fins de production d’énergie hydro-électrique.

 

ARTICLE VI

Les eaux rendues disponibles pour la production d’énergie hydro-électrique par les dispositions du présent Traité seront partagées également entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique.

 

ARTICLE VII

Le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique désigneront chacun un représentant qui, de concert avec le représentant de l’autre partie, jugera et déterminera les quantités d’eau disponibles aux fins du présent Traité, prendra note desdites quantités, et notera aussi les quantités d’eau détournées pour la production d’énergie hydro-électrique.

 

ARTICLE VIII

Tant qu’il n’existera pas d’aménagements, sur le territoire de l’une des deux parties, lui permettant d’utiliser toute sa part des eaux détournées pour fins de production d’énergie hydro-électrique aux termes du présent Traité, l’autre partie pourra utiliser la fraction de cette part pour l’utilisation de laquelle il n’existe pas d’aménagements.

 

ARTICLE IX

Ni l’une ni l’autre partie ne sera responsable des torts ou dommages physiques causés aux personnes ou aux biens situés dans le territoire de l’autre partie, et qui pourraient être causés par tout acte autorisé ou prévu par le présent Traité.

 

ARTICLE X

Le présent Traité sera ratifié et ses instruments de ratification échangés à Ottawa. Le Traité entrera en vigueur à la date de l’échange des ratifications et restera en vigueur pendant une période de cinquante ans et, par la suite, pendant un an à compter du jour où l’une des deux parties aura notifié à l’autre l’intention d’abroger le Traité.

 

EN FOI DE QUOI, les plénipotentiaires soussignés ont signé ce Traité.

FAIT en double exemplaire, à Washington, ce 27e jour de février 1950.

 

H. H. Wrong

POUR LE CANADA

 

Dean Acheson

POUR LES ÉTATS-UNIS D'AMÉRIQUE

 

ACCORD ENTRE LE CANADA ET L’ONTARIO

Accord conclu ce vingt-septième jour de mars 1950 entre le Gouvernement du Canada, représenté par le très honorable Louis S. St-Laurent, d’une part, et le Gouvernement de l'Ontario, représenté par l'honorable Leslie M. Frost, d’autre part.

ATTENDU qu’un traité, dénommé ci-après Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara, a été conclu entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d’Amérique en vue de compléter le Traité des eaux limitrophes de 1909 et de modifier l’article V de ce Traité en ce qui concerne la dérivation des eaux du Niagara et la répartition de l’eau détournée entre les États-Unis d’Amérique et le Canada;

ET ATTENDU qu’il yas intérêt à ce qu’un Accord soit conclu entre le Canada et l’Ontario au sujet de l’utilisation du débit du Niagara en conformité du Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara;

À CES CAUSES le présent Accord est intervenu :

 

ARTICLE 1er

Le présent Accord est subordonné à la ratification, par le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique, du Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara.

 

ARTICLE II

L’Ontario s’engage à ériger la partie canadienne des ouvrages de protection, dans le Niagara, dont pourront convenir d’un commun accord le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique en conformité de l’article II du Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara, et à payer la part canadienne du coût des ouvrages de protection qui seront érigés en conformité de cet article. Le Canada s’engage à consulter l’Ontario avant de donner son approbation aux recommandations que pourra formuler la Commission conjointe internationale sur la nature et la forme desdits ouvrages de protection.

 

ARTICLE III

Le Canada, sans délai, et à mesure qu’il sera habilité à donner son autorisation en vertu dudit Traité, autorisera et mettra à la disposition de l’Ontario, pour fins de production hydro-électrique, la quantité d’eau détournée que spécifie l’article III du Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara.

 

ARTICLE IV

L’Ontario s’engage à prendre des mesures pour instruire les réclamations et faire droit à toute réclamation valide résultant de blessures aux personnes ou de dommages à la propriété subis en territoire canadien par rapport à la construction et à l’utilisation des ouvrages autorisés ou prévus par le présent Accord.

 

ARTICLE V

Le présent Accord est conclu sous réserve de l’approbation du Parlement du Canada et de la Législature de l’Ontario. Si, toutefois, le Traité concernant la dérivation des eaux du Niagara n’est pas entré en vigueur dans les deux ans de la date du présent Accord, chacune des deux parties pourra par notification écrite à l’autre partie, annuler aussitôt le présent Accord.

 

EN FOI DE QUOI, le très honorable Louis-S. St-Laurent a apposé sa signature à ces présentes au nom du Canada et l’honorable Leslie M. Frost a apposé sa signature à ces présentes au nom de l’Ontario, l’un et l’autre ce vingt-septième jour de mars de l’an de grâce mil neuf cent cinquante.

 

Louis-S. St-Laurent

Leslie M. Frost

 

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES
CANADA

PROTOCOLE D’ÉCHANGE

Les soussignés, s’étant réunis en vue d’échanger les instruments dé ratification du Traité sur la dérivation des eaux du Niagara entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique concernant l’utilisation des eaux de la rivière Niagara, signé à Washington le 27 février 1950, et ayant collationné avec soin lesdits instruments, relèvent, dans l’instrument de ratification des États-Unis, la réserve suivante :

“Les États-Unis, de leur côté, se réservent expressément le droit de pourvoir par une loi du Congrès au réaménagement, pour l’utilité et le bénéfice du public, de la partie des eaux de la rivière Niagara dont les États-Unis disposent en vertu du Traité, aucun programme de réaménagement desdites eaux ne devant être entrepris que lorsqu’il aura été formellement autorisé par une loi du Congrès.”

Le Canada accepte la réserve précitée parce que ses termes visent uniquement l’application du Traité à l’intérieur des États-Unis et ne modifient pas les droits ou obligations imputés au Canada par le Traité.

En conséquence, les instruments de ratification ayant été jugés conformes sous tous autres rapports, ledit échange a eu lieu ce jour dans les formes d’usage.

 

EN FOI DE QUOI, ils ont signé le présent Protocole d’échange et y ont apposé leurs sceaux.

FAIT à Ottawa, le dixième jour d’octobre 1950.

 

Louis St-Laurent

POUR LE CANADA

 

Stanley Woodward

POUR LES ÉTATS-UNIS D'AMÉRIQUE

View Treaty - E100418

If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us by e-mail at: info.jli@international.gc.ca, for obtaining a new document in HTML format.

Treaty Between Canada and the United States of America Concerning the Diversion of the Niagara River

E100418 - CTS 1950 No. 3

Canada and the United States of America, recognizing their primary obligation to preserve and enhance the scenic beauty of the Niagara Falls and River and, consistent with that obligation, their common interest in providing for the most beneficial use of the waters of that River,

Considering that the quantity of water which may be diverted from the Niagara River for power purposes is at present fixed by Article V of the treaty with respect to the boundary waters between Canada and the United States of America, signed at Washington January 11, 1909, between Great Britain and the United States of America, and by notes exchanged between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America in 1940, 1941, and 1948, authorizing for emergency purposes temporary additional diversions,

Recognizing that the supply of low-cost power in northeastern United States and southeastern Canada is now insufficient to meet existing and potential requirements and considering that the water resources of the Niagara River may be more fully and efficiently used than is now permitted by international agreement,

Desiring to avoid a continuing waste of a great natural resource and to make it possible for Canada and the United States of America to develop, for the benefit of their respective peoples, equal shares of the waters of the Niagara River available for power purposes, and,

Realizing that any redevelopment of the Niagara River for power in Canada and the United States of America is not advisable until the total diversion of water which may be made available for power purposes is authorized permanently and any restrictions on the use thereof are agreed upon,

Have resolved to conclude a treaty in furtherance of these ends and for that purpose have appointed as their plenipotentiaries:

Canada:

H. H. Wrong, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Canada to the United States of America, and

The United States of America:

Dean Acheson, Secretary of State of the United States of America,

Who, after having communicated to one another their full powers, found in good and due form, have agreed upon the following articles:

Article I

This Treaty shall terminate the third, fourth, and fifth paragraphs of Article V of the treaty between Great Britain and the United States of America relating to boundary waters and questions arising between Canada and the United States of America dated January 11, 1909, and the provisions embodied in the notes exchanged between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America at Washington on May 20, 1941, October 27, 1941, November 27, 1941, and December 23, 1948 regarding temporary diversions of water of the Niagara River for power purposes.

Article II

Canada and the United States of America agree to complete in accordance with the objectives envisaged in the final report submitted to Canada and the United States of America on December 11, 1929, by the Special International Niagara Board, the remedial works which are necessary to enhance the beauty of the Falls by distributing the waters so as to produce an unbroken crestline on the Falls. Canada and the United States of America shall request the Inter­national Joint Commission to make recommendations as to the nature and design of such remedial works and the allocation of the task of construction as between Canada and the United States of America. Upon approval by Canada and the United States of America of such recommendations the construction shall be undertaken pursuant thereto under the supervision of the International Joint Commission and shall be completed within four years after the date upon which Canada and the United States of America shall have approved the said recommendations. The total cost of the works shall be divided equally between Canada and the United States of America.

Article III

The amount of water which shall be available for the purposes included in Articles IV and V of this Treaty shall be the total outflow from Lake Erie to the Welland Canal and the Niagara River (including the Black Rock Canal) less the amount of water used and necessary for domestic and sanitary purposes and for the service of canals for the purposes of navigation. Waters which are being diverted into the natural drainage of the Great Lakes System through the existing Long Lac-Ogoki works shall continue to be governed by the notes exchanged between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America at Washington on October 14 and 31 and November 7, 1940, and shall not be included in the waters allocated under the provisions of this Treaty.

Article IV

In order to reserve sufficient amounts of water in the Niagara River for scenic purposes, no diversions of the water specified in Article III of this Treaty shall be made for power purposes which will reduce the flow over Niagara Falls to less than one hundred thousand cubic feet per second each day between the hours of eight a.m., E.S.T., and ten p.m., E.S.T., during the period of each year beginning April 1 and ending September 15, both dates inclusive, or to less than one hundred thousand cubic feet per second each day between the hours of eight am, E.S.T., and eight pm, E.S.T., during the period of each year beginning September 16 and ending October 31, both dates inclusive, or to less than fifty thousand cubic feet per second at any other time; the minimum rate of fifty thousand cubic feet per second to be increased when additional water is required for flushing ice above the Falls or through the rapids below the Falls. No diversion of the amounts of water, specified in this Article to flow over the Falls, shall be made for power purposes between the Falls and Lake Ontario.

Article V

All water specified in Article III of this Treaty in excess of water reserved for scenic purposes in Article IV may be diverted for power purposes.

Article VI

The waters made available for power purposes by the provisions of this Treaty shall be divided equally between Canada and the United States of America.

Article VII

Canada and the United States of America shall each designate a represent­ative who, acting jointly, shall ascertain and determine the amounts of water available for the purposes of this Treaty, and shall record the same, and shall also record the amounts of water used for power diversions.

Article VIII

Until such time as there are facilities in the territory of one party to use its full share of the diversions of water for power purposes agreed upon in this Treaty, the other party may use the portion of that share for the use of which facilities are not available.

Article IX

Neither party shall be responsible for physical injury or damage to persons or property in the territory of the other which may be caused by any act authorized or provided for by this Treaty.

Article X

This Treaty shall be ratified and the instruments of ratification thereof exchanged at Ottawa. The Treaty shall come into force upon the date of the exchange of ratifications and continue in force for a period of fifty years and thereafter until one year from the day on which either party shall give notice to the other party of its intention of terminating the Treaty.


IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned plenipotentiaries have signed this Treaty.

DONE in duplicate at Washington this twenty-seventh day of February, 1950.


H. H. Wrong
FOR CANADA

Dean Acheson
FOR THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA


AGREEMENT BETWEEN CANADA AND ONTARIO

Agreement made this twenty-seventh day of March, 1950 between the Government of Canada, herein represented by the Right Honourable Louis S. St-Laurent of the First Part and the Government of Ontario, herein represented by the Honourable Leslie M. Frost of the Second Part.

WHEREAS a treaty hereinafter referred to as the Niagara Diversion Treaty has now been signed by the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America to supplement the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909 and amend Article V of that Treaty with respect to the diversion of water from the Niagara River and the division of diverted water between the United States of America and Canada; and

WHEREAS it is desirable that an Agreement be made between Canada and Ontario in respect of the utilization of the flow of the waters of the Niagara River to be in accordance with the Niagara Diversion Treaty:

Now THEREFORE This Agreement Witnesseth:


Article I

This Agreement is conditional upon the ratification of the Niagara Diversion Treaty by Canada and the United States of America.

Article II

Ontario undertakes to construct the Canadian portion of such remedial works in the Niagara River as may be agreed upon by Canada and the United States of America pursuant to Article II of the Niagara Diversion Treaty and to pay the Canadian share of the cost of the remedial works constructed pursuant to that Article. Canada undertakes to consult Ontario before giving approval to such recommendations as the International Joint Commission may make as to the nature and design of such remedial works.

Article III

Canada, without delay, will authorize and make available to Ontario such diversions of the water specified in Article III of the Niagara Diversion Treaty, for power purposes, as Canada is from time to time enabled to authorize under the terms of said Treaty.

Article IV

Ontario undertakes to make provision for the disposition of claims and for the satisfaction of any valid claims arising out of the damage or injury to persons or property occurring in Canadian territory in connection with the construction and operation of any of the works authorized or provided for by this Agreement.

Article V

This Agreement is made subject to its approval by the Parliament of Canada and by the Legislature of the Province of Ontario. If, however, the Niagara Diversion Treaty has not come into force within two years from the date of this Agreement, either party hereto may by written notice to the other, forthwith cancel this Agreement.


IN WITNESS WHEREOF the Right Honourable Louis S. St-Laurent has hereunto set his hand on behalf of Canada and the Honourable Leslie M. Frost has hereunto set his hand on behalf of Ontario;

Both upon the twenty-seventh day of March, in the year of Our Lord one thousand nine hundred and fifty.


Louis S. St-Laurent

Leslie M. Frost

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS
CANADA

PROTOCOL OF EXCHANGE

The undersigned, having met together for the purpose of exchanging the Instruments of Ratification of the Niagara Diversion Treaty between Canada and the United States of America, concerning uses of the waters of the Niagara River, signed at Washington on February 27, 1950 and the respective Instruments of Ratification of the aforesaid Treaty having been carefully compared, it is observed that the United States Instrument of Ratification contains the following reservation:

“The United States on its part expressly reserves the right to provide by Act of Congress for re-development, for the public use and benefit, of the United States’ share of the waters of the Niagara River made available by the provisions of the Treaty, and no project for re-development of the United States’ share of such waters shall be undertaken until it be speci­fically authorized by Act of Congress.”

Canada accepts the above-mentioned reservation because its provisions relate only to the internal application of the treaty within the United States and do not affect Canada’s rights or obligations under the Treaty.

Therefore, the Instruments of Ratification found to be conformable in all other respects, the said Exchange took place this day in the usual form.


IN WITNESS WHEREOF they have signed the present Protocol of Exchange and have affixed thereto their seals.

DONE at Ottawa, this 10th day of October, 1950.


Louis S. St-Laurent
FOR CANADA

Stanley Woodward
FOR THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA