View Treaty - E105268

If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us by e-mail at: info.jli@international.gc.ca, for obtaining a new document in HTML format.

Cooperation Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the European Space Agency

E105268

THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA (hereinafter referred to as “Canada”) and THE EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY established by the Convention opened for signature in Paris on 30 May 1975 (hereinafter referred to as “the Agency”),

HAVING REGARD to the Cooperation Agreement between the Government of Canada and the European Space Agency signed in Paris on 21 June 2000 which provides for the close cooperation between Canada and the Agency for the period starting on 1 January 2000 and elapsing on 31 December 2009;

CONSIDERING that such agreement is inscribed in a long lasting cooperation for exclusively peaceful purposes, in the fields of space research and technology and their space applications, established between Canada and the Agency since 1979;

CONSIDERING the mutual benefits brought by such cooperation, which has been implemented by the participation of Canada, through the Canadian Space Agency, in several of the Agency's activities and programmes;

HAVING REGARD to the Resolution on the European Space Policy adopted by the Council of the Agency on 22 May 2007 (ESA/C/CXCIV/Res. 1 (Final)) and to the Resolution “Taking forward the European Space Policy” adopted by the Council of the Agency on 26 September 2008 (ESA/C-M/CCII/Res. 1 (Final));

DESIRING to pursue and to strengthen further the close cooperation between Canada and the Agency;

AGREE as follows:

Article I

The purpose of this Agreement is to provide for the long-term continuing framework for close cooperation between Canada and the Agency for the new period specified in Article XIV.

Article II

Canada shall benefit from all activities executed under the Agency's General Budget, except that Canada shall not participate in the basic technological research programme.

Article III

Canada may also participate in other parts of the Agency's mandatory and optional activities and programmes or operational activities in accordance with detailed arrangements to be concluded in each case between Canada and the Agency subject to unanimous approval of the Member States participating in the activities and programmes in question.

Article IV

  1. Canada shall contribute annually to the Agency's General Budget expenditure (excluding the output “Technological research”) in its initially approved version. This contribution shall represent 50% of its contribution scale calculated on the basis used for the Member States of the Agency and adopted in accordance with Article XIII.1 of the Agency's Convention.
  2. Canada shall contribute to the expenditure of the activities and programmes in which it participates, in accordance with the provisions of the relevant detailed arrangements concluded pursuant to Article III.
  3. Canada's contributions as provided for in this Article shall be updated and paid in conformity with the rules and procedures in force in the Agency for all Member States.

Article V

Canada shall participate in the meetings of the Agency's delegate bodies in accordance with the following provisions:

  1. Canada shall have the right to be represented at open meetings of the Council of the Agency by not more than two delegates, who may be accompanied by advisors. These delegates shall have the right to vote on questions relating to the activities and programmes in which Canada participates pursuant to Articles II and III above. Canada shall not have the right to vote in Council on the General Budget or on matters related to it, but shall have the right to state its opinion and to be heard on other questions.
  2. Canada shall have the right to be represented, by not more than two delegates who may be accompanied by advisors, at meetings of the subordinate and advisory bodies of the Agency, competent in any capacity to deal with the activities and programmes in which Canada participates. Canada shall also have the right to be similarly represented on the Programme Boards of the Agency concerned with those optional programmes in which Canada participates in accordance with the detailed arrangements referred to in Article III. Canada shall have the right to be heard at the above meetings and to vote on issues relating to those activities and programmes in which Canada participates.
  3. Canada may request to be represented in an observer capacity at meetings of any subordinate body or Programme Board which is solely concerned with programmes in which Canada does not participate. Such request shall be accepted subject to the unanimous approval of the Agency Member States concerned.
  4. Canada may attend Potential Participants' meetings in an observer capacity, in particular meetings dealing with the preparation of programmes related to programmes in which Canada participates, unless the Agency Member States concerned decide otherwise.
  5. Canada shall not have the right to be represented at the meetings of the Council, of any subordinate bodies or Programme Boards which are held on a restricted basis in accordance with the relevant rules of procedure. However, Canada may be authorised by the body concerned, either at Canada's request or at the request of one or more delegations, to attend discussions on certain items on the agendas of such meetings, when they involve matters of interest to Canada and the Agency, in order to express its opinion.
  6. Canada shall not have the right to vote on decisions affecting the rights and obligations of Member States, as outlined in particular in Article XI.5 of the Agency's Convention.

Article VI

With respect to the geographical distribution of work relating to the activities and programmes in which Canada participates, the Agency shall:

  1. ensure a fair industrial return to Canada for activities under the General Budget, excluding the technological research programme (TRP), and
  2. for optional activities and programmes, and consistent with the arrangements referred to in Article III above, implement for Canada the applicable rules developed for the various activities and programmes, to the same extent as for the other Participating States.

Article VII

Canada shall have access, to the same extent as provided to Member States, to information, including contract reports, relating to the activities and programmes in which Canada participates.

Article VIII

Canada shall endeavour, to the extent that it is consistent with its policy, to make use for its own purposes of the space facilities, services and products of the Agency and of its Member States, developed within the framework of the Agency, including launching means. On their side, the Agency and its Member States shall endeavour, to the extent that it is consistent with their policies, to make use for their own purposes of Canadian space facilities, services and products.

Article IX

  1. Canada and the Agency agree to keep each other regularly informed about, and consult together on, their space plans, programmes and projects, and to study problems of common interest. To this end Canada and the Agency shall exchange appropriate scientific and technical documents and general information, including for the purpose of promoting the development of space law, account being taken of their respective regulations, it being understood that documents containing information that is protected, or whose protection is being sought, cannot be communicated.
  2. Canada and the Agency shall also consult together when they are represented at international conferences and meetings related to space activities, for the purpose of exchanging views on matters of mutual concern and they shall seek to harmonise, as appropriate, their positions on matters which are likely to have a bearing on implementation of their common space programmes and activities.

Article X

In addition to cooperation in the long-term continuing framework outlined above, Canada and the Agency may also develop arrangements for cooperating in individual bilateral projects in space activities pursued by both Parties and for the exchange of personnel. Approval of such arrangements, which shall not modify the rights and obligations of the Parties under the present Agreement, shall be subject to the Parties' relevant procedures.

Article XI

  1. The Agency shall have the legal capacity of a body corporate in Canada.
  2. In accordance with section 7(a) and (b) and Section 8 of Article II of the Convention on Privileges and Immunities of the United Nations:
    1. The Agency shall be reimbursed in accordance with the procedure for customs duties and taxes pursuant to the laws and regulations in force in Canada on any purchase made by the Agency, or by a person acting on its behalf, from a supplier resident in Canada, of goods and services necessary for the performance of the Agency's official activities.
    2. The competent public authorities of Canada shall assist the Agency with a view to facilitating the reimbursement of the above-mentioned customs duties and taxes.
    3. The Agency, its property and income shall be exempt from all direct taxes in Canada.
    4. Canada and the Agency shall discuss appropriate procedures to be used for the export or import of goods related to the cooperation.
  3. The property of the Agency in Canada shall enjoy immunity from every form of legal process except insofar as in any particular case the Agency has expressly waived its immunity.
  4. The Agency may receive and hold in Canada any kind of funds, currency, cash or securities; it may dispose of them freely in Canada for any purpose provided for in the Convention and hold accounts in any currency for the purpose of receiving contributions owed to the Agency by Canada and of conducting the Agency's activities in Canada in general.
  5. Should the Agency wish to set up an Office or any facility in Canada for its activities and programmes, Canada and the Agency shall conclude a separate Protocol determining the privileges and immunities of such an office or facility and of their employees.
  6. Officials of the Agency shall have, in Canada, to such an extent as may be required for the performance of their functions, the privileges set forth in section 18 of Article V of the Convention on privileges and immunities of the United Nations, except that paragraph (b) of section 18 of Article V of the said Convention shall not apply to Canadian citizens residing or ordinarily resident in Canada.

Article XII

This Agreement may be amended by mutual consent. The Party wishing to amend a provision of this Agreement shall notify the other Party in writing. Any amendment shall enter into force when each Party has notified the other in writing of its acceptance of the said amendment in accordance with its own procedures.

Article XIII

Where a dispute arises in relation to the application or interpretation of this Agreement which cannot be settled amicably between the Parties, it shall, at the request of either Party, be submitted to arbitration. The provisions of Article XVII of the Agency's Convention shall apply unless the Parties agree otherwise.

Article XIV

  1. Each Party shall notify the other Party in writing of the completion of its respective procedures for the entry into force of this Agreement. This Agreement shall enter into force on the date of the second of these notifications and shall remain in force until December 31, 2019.
  2. It may be terminated upon one year's written notice by either Party before the end of this period. Detailed arrangements concluded pursuant to Article III and in force at the time of termination of this Agreement shall remain in force until their completion. Taking into account any outstanding obligation incurred under Article III, Canada shall contribute to the part of the common investments and the part of the fixed support costs remaining to be borne by the General Budget at a rate to be mutually agreed.
  3. During the fifth year following the entry into force of this Agreement, Canada and the Agency shall proceed to a formal review of their cooperation under this Agreement.
  4. This Agreement may be renewed for further periods by mutual agreement. The present Agreement shall remain in force during the time necessary to complete the procedures for such renewal.
  5. If the Agency is dissolved before the termination of this Agreement, the Agreement shall terminate on the date of the dissolution of the Agency, Canada's remaining rights and obligations shall be governed by the relevant provisions of Article XXV of the Agency's Convention.

DONE at Paris on December 15, 2010, in two originals, in the English, French and German languages, all three versions being equally authentic.

Steve MacLean
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Jean-Jacques Dordain
FOR THE EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY

Voir le traité - F105268

Si vous ne pouvez accéder au document, veuillez communiquer par courriel à l'adresse suivante : info.jli@international.gc.ca, pour obtenir un nouveau texte en format HTML.

Accord De Coopération Entre Le Gouvernement Du Canada Et L'agence Spatiale Européenne

F105268

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA (ci-après dénommé « le Canada ») et L'AGENCE SPATIALE EUROPÉENNE, créée par la Convention ouverte à la signature à Paris le 30 mai 1975 (ci-après dénommée « l'Agence »),

VU l'Accord de coopération entre le Gouvernement du Canada et l'Agence spatiale européenne signé à Paris le 21 juin 2000, qui prévoit une coopération étroite entre le Canada et l'Agence pour une période commençant le 1er janvier 2000 et s'achevant le 31 décembre 2009;

CONSIDÉRANT que cet Accord s'inscrit dans le cadre d'une coopération de longue durée, à des fins exclusivement pacifiques, dans les domaines de la recherche et de la technologie spatiales et de leurs applications spatiales, mise en place entre le Canada et l'Agence depuis 1979;

CONSIDÉRANT les bénéfices mutuels apportés par cette coopération, mise en œuvre par la participation du Canada, par l'intermédiaire de l'Agence spatiale canadienne, à plusieurs activités et programmes de l'Agence;

VU la Résolution relative à la politique spatiale européenne adoptée par le Conseil de l'Agence le 22 mai 2007 (ESA/C/CXCIV/Rés. 1 (Final)) et la Résolution « Faire progresser la politique spatiale européenne » adoptée par le Conseil de l'ASE le 26 septembre 2008 (ESA/C-M/CCII/Rés. 1 (Final));

DÉSIREUX de poursuivre et de renforcer encore cette étroite coopération entre le Canada et l'Agence;

CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT:

ARTICLE PREMIER

Le présent Accord a pour objet de fournir le cadre pour la poursuite à long terme d'une étroite coopération entre le Canada et l'Agence pour la nouvelle période spécifiée à l'Article XIV.

ARTICLE II

Le Canada bénéficie de l'ensemble des activités conduites au titre du Budget général de l'Agence, à l'exception du Programme de recherche technologique de base auquel il ne participe pas.

ARTICLE III

Le Canada peut également participer à d'autres éléments des activités et programmes obligatoires et facultatifs ou à des activités opérationnelles de l'Agence conformément à des arrangements détaillés qui seront conclus dans chaque cas entre le Canada et l'Agence, sous réserve de l'approbation unanime des États membres participant aux activités et programmes en cause.

ARTICLE IV

  1. Le Canada contribue annuellement aux dépenses de l'Agence inscrites au Budget général (à l'exclusion de celles prévues au titre de la « Recherche technologique ») dans la première version approuvée du budget. La contribution du Canada représente 50 % de ce qu'elle aurait été si elle avait été calculée sur la base utilisée pour les États membres de l'Agence et adoptée conformément aux dispositions de l'Article XIII.1 de la Convention de l'Agence.
  2. Le Canada contribue aux dépenses au titre des activités et programmes auxquels il participe, conformément aux dispositions des arrangements détaillés pertinents conclus en application de l'Article III.
  3. Les contributions du Canada visées au présent Article sont actualisées et versées conformément aux règles et procédures en vigueur à l'Agence pour tous les États membres.

ARTICLE V

Le Canada participe aux réunions des organes délibérants de l'Agence conformément aux dispositions suivantes :

  1. Le Canada a le droit d'être représenté aux sessions publiques du Conseil de l'Agence par deux délégués au plus qui peuvent être accompagnés de conseillers. Ces délégués disposent du droit de vote sur les questions relatives aux activités et programmes auxquels le Canada participe en application des Articles II et III ci-dessus. Le Canada n'a pas voix délibérative au Conseil pour le budget général ou pour toute question y afférente mais il a le droit de faire part de son opinion et il a voix consultative pour d'autres questions.
  2. Le Canada a le droit d'être représenté par deux délégués au plus qui peuvent être accompagnés de conseillers aux réunions des organes subsidiaires et consultatifs de l'Agence compétents à un titre quelconque pour traiter des activités et programmes auxquels le Canada participe. Le Canada a également le droit d'être représenté de la même façon auprès des Conseils directeurs de programmes de l'Agence compétents pour ceux des programmes facultatifs de l'Agence auxquels le Canada participe selon les arrangements détaillés visés à l'Article III. Le Canada a voix consultative aux réunions susvisées et voix délibérative pour les questions se rapportant aux activités et programmes auxquels il participe.
  3. Le Canada peut demander à être représenté en qualité d'observateur aux réunions de tel ou tel organe subsidiaire ou Conseil directeur de programme traitant exclusivement de programmes auxquels il ne participe pas. Pour être acceptée, une telle demande doit recevoir l'approbation unanime des États membres de l'Agence concernés.
  4. Le Canada peut participer aux réunions de Participants potentiels et en particulier à celles traitant de la préparation de programmes auxquels il participe sauf si les États membres de l'Agence concernés en décident autrement.
  5. Le Canada n'a pas le droit d'être représenté aux réunions restreintes organisées par le Conseil, les organes subsidiaires ou les Conseils directeurs de programme conformément aux règlements intérieurs pertinents. Toutefois, pour exprimer son opinion, le Canada peut être autorisé par l'organe en cause, soit à sa demande soit à celle d'une ou de plusieurs délégations, à assister à l'examen de certains points de l'ordre du jour de ces réunions traitant de questions intéressant le Canada et l'Agence.
  6. Le Canada n'a pas voix délibérative pour des décisions affectant les droits et obligations des États membres décrits notamment à l'Article XI.5 de la Convention de l'Agence.

ARTICLE VI

En ce qui concerne la répartition géographique des travaux relatifs aux activités et programmes de l'Agence auxquels le Canada participe, l'Agence :

  1. garantit au Canada un retour industriel équitable sur les activités conduites au titre du Budget général, à l'exception du Programme de recherche technologique (TRP) et,
  2. en ce qui concerne les activités et programmes facultatifs, et conformément aux arrangements visés à l'Article III ci-dessus, met en œuvre pour le Canada les règles applicables élaborées pour les différents programmes et activités, dans la même mesure que pour les autres États participants.

ARTICLE VII

Le Canada a accès, dans la même mesure que les États membres, aux informations, y compris les rapports contractuels, qui ont trait aux activités et aux programmes auxquels il participe.

ARTICLE VIII

Le Canada s'efforce, dans la mesure où cela est conforme à sa politique, d'utiliser pour ses propres fins les installations spatiales, les services et les produits de l'Agence et de ses États membres, développés dans le cadre de l'Agence, y compris les moyens de lancement. Pour leur part, l'Agence et ses États membres s'efforcent, dans la mesure où cela est conforme à leurs politiques, d'utiliser pour leurs propres fins les installations spatiales, les services et les produits du Canada.

ARTICLE IX

  1. Le Canada et l'Agence conviennent de se tenir régulièrement informés et de se consulter sur leurs plans, programmes et projets spatiaux et d'étudier les problèmes d'intérêt commun. À cet effet, le Canada et l'Agence échangent des documents scientifiques et techniques appropriés et des informations générales, y compris aux fins de promouvoir le développement du droit de l'espace, compte tenu de leurs réglementations respectives, étant entendu qu'il ne peut y avoir communication de documents contenant des informations protégées ou qui font l'objet d'une demande de protection.
  2. Le Canada et l'Agence se consultent également lorsqu'ils sont représentés aux conférences et réunions internationales ayant trait aux activités spatiales, en vue de procéder à des échanges de vues sur des questions d'intérêt commun et s'efforcent d'harmoniser, le cas échéant, leurs positions en ce qui concerne les questions susceptibles d'influer sur le bon déroulement de leurs activités et programmes spatiaux communs.

ARTICLE X

Outre la poursuite de leur coopération à long terme dans le cadre exposé ci-dessus, le Canada et l'Agence peuvent également conclure des arrangements de coopération concernant des projets bilatéraux spécifiques relatifs à des activités spatiales conduites par les deux Parties, ou concernant l'échange de personnel. L'approbation de ce type d'arrangements, lesquels ne modifient ni les droits ni les obligations des Parties au titre du présent Accord, est subordonnée aux procédures appropriées des Parties.

ARTICLE XI

  1. L'Agence a, au Canada, la capacité juridique d'une personne morale.
  2. Conformément à la section 7 a) et b) et à la section 8 de l'Article II de la Convention sur les privilèges et immunités des Nations Unies:
    1. Conformément à la procédure prescrite, l'Agence est remboursée des droits de douane et des taxes qui peuvent être prélevés, au titre des lois et règlements en vigueur au Canada, sur toute acquisition effectuée par l'Agence ou par une personne agissant pour le compte de cette dernière, auprès d'un fournisseur ayant sa résidence au Canada, de biens et de services nécessaires à l'exécution des activités officielles de l'Agence.
    2. Les organismes publics compétents du Canada s'efforcent de faciliter le remboursement à l'Agence desdits droits de douane et taxes.
    3. L'Agence, ses biens et ses recettes sont exonérés de toutes taxes directes au Canada.
    4. Le Canada et l'Agence recherchent quelle serait la procédure appropriée à utiliser pour l'exportation ou l'importation de biens relatifs à la coopération.
  3. L'Agence, en ce qui a trait à ses biens au Canada, bénéficie de l'immunité de juridiction sous toutes ses formes sauf si, dans un cas particulier, elle a expressément renoncé à cette immunité.
  4. L'Agence peut recevoir et détenir au Canada toute forme de fonds, devises, espèces ou titres; elle peut en disposer librement au Canada à toutes les fins prévues dans la Convention et détenir des comptes dans quelque devise que ce soit pour recevoir les contributions qui lui sont dues par le Canada et, de façon générale, pour mener ses activités au Canada.
  5. Si l'Agence souhaite établir au Canada un Bureau ou toute autre installation pour ses activités et programmes, le Canada et l'Agence concluent un Protocole distinct définissant les privilèges et immunités de ce Bureau ou de cette installation et de leurs employés.
  6. Les fonctionnaires de l'Agence bénéficient au Canada, dans la mesure nécessaire à l'accomplissement de leurs fonctions, des privilèges établis à la section 18 de l'Article V de la Convention sur les privilèges et immunités des Nations Unies, le paragraphe b) de la section 18 de l'Article V de ladite Convention n'étant toutefois pas applicable aux citoyens canadiens résidents ou résidant habituellement au Canada.

ARTICLE XII

Le présent Accord peut être amendé par accord mutuel. La Partie qui désire amender une disposition de l'Accord le notifie à l'autre Partie par écrit. Un amendement entre en vigueur lorsque chaque Partie a notifié à l'autre par écrit son acceptation dudit amendement en fonction de ses propres formalités de procédure.

ARTICLE XIII

Tout différend né de l'application ou de l'interprétation du présent Accord qui ne peut être réglé à l'amiable entre les Parties est soumis à arbitrage à la requête de l'une ou l'autre Partie. Les dispositions de l'Article XVII de la Convention de l'Agence s'appliquent, sauf accord contraire des Parties.

ARTICLE XIV

  1. Chaque Partie notifie par écrit à l'autre Partie l'accomplissement de ses propres procédures nécessaires à l'entrée en vigueur du présent Accord. Le présent Accord entre en vigueur à la date de la deuxième de ces notifications et le demeure jusqu'au 31 décembre 2019.
  2. Il peut être dénoncé par l'une ou l'autre Partie moyennant préavis d'un an donné par écrit avant la fin de cette période. Les arrangements détaillés conclus en application des dispositions de l'Article III qui seront en vigueur à la date de dénonciation du présent Accord le resteront jusqu'à leur exécution complète. Compte tenu de toute obligation restant à remplir au titre de l'Article III, le Canada contribue à la part des investissements communs et à la part des frais de soutien fixes restant à la charge du budget général, à un taux qui sera fixé d'un commun accord.
  3. Le Canada et l'Agence procèdent à une revue formelle de leur coopération au titre du présent Accord au cours de la cinquième année suivant son entrée en vigueur.
  4. Le présent Accord peut être reconduit par accord mutuel pour de nouvelles périodes. Il reste en vigueur le temps nécessaire pour mener à bien la procédure de reconduction.
  5. Si l'Agence est dissoute avant l'expiration du présent Accord, celui-ci est résilié à la date de dissolution de l'Agence. Les droits et obligations restant à remplir par le Canada sont régis par les dispositions pertinentes de l'Article XXV de la Convention de l'Agence.

FAIT à Paris le 15 décembre 2010, en deux originaux, dans les langues française, anglaise et allemande, les trois versions faisant également foi.

Steve MacLean

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Jean-Jacques Dordain

POUR L'AGENCE SPATIALE EUROPÉENNE