Symbol of the Government of Canada

Canada Treaty Information

treaty-accord.gc.ca

View Treaty - E101513

If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us by e-mail at: info.jlab@dfait-maeci.gc.ca, for obtaining a new document in HTML format.

Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Hungary for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments

E101513 - CTS 1993 No. 14

The Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Hungary hereinafter referred to as the "Contracting Parties";

Recognizing that the promotion and the reciprocal protection of investments of investors of one Contracting Party in the territory of the other Contracting Party will be conducive to the stimulation of business initiative and to the development of economic cooperation between them;

Have agreed as follows:

Article I

Definitions

For the purpose of this Agreement:

  1. the term "territory" means:
    1. in respect of Canada, the territory of Canada, as well as those maritime areas, including the seabed and subsoil adjacent to the outer limit of the territorial sea, over which Canada exercises, in accordance with international law, sovereign rights for the purpose of exploration and exploitation of the natural resources of such areas;
    2. in respect of the Republic of Hungary, the territory of the Republic of Hungary.
  2. the term "investment" means any kind of asset invested by an investor of one Contracting Party in the territory of the other contracting Party and in particular, though not exclusively, shall include:
    1. any movable and immovable property and any other related property rights;
    2. shares, stock, bonds and debentures or any other form of participation including minority or indirect participation in a company or a business enterprise;
    3. claims to money, and claims to performance under contract having a financial value;
    4. any intellectual property rights, including rights with respect to copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade names, industrial designs, trade secrets, good will as well as know-how;
    5. business concessions conferred by law or under contract, including concession rights to search for, cultivate, extract or exploit natural resources;
    6. rights, conferred by law or under contract, to undertake any economic and commercial activity.

    Any change in the form of an investment does not affect its character as an investment;

  3. the term "returns" means all amounts yielded by an investment and in particular, though not exclusively, profits, interest, capital gains, dividends, royalties, fees or other current income;
  4. the term " investor" means with regard to either Contracting Party:
    1. any natural person possessing the citizenship of a Contracting Party in accordance with its laws; or
    2. any corporation, partnership, trust, joint venture, organization, association, enterprise or legal person incorporated or duly constituted in accordance with applicable laws of that Contracting Party directly or indirectly controlled by nationals of one of the contracting Parties.
    3. if the investment is made by an investor through an entity not covered by paragraph (d) (ii) of this Article, in which he holds an equity participation, such investor shall enjoy the benefits of this Agreement to the extent of such indirect equity participation, provided, however, that such an investor shall not enjoy the benefits of this Agreement if the investor invokes the dispute settlement mechanism under another foreign investment protection agreement concluded by the Contracting Party in whose territory the investment is made.

In case of disagreement concerning the nationality of an investor, consultations shall take place between the Contracting Parties with a view to achieve a mutually satisfactory solution.

Article II

Promotion of Investment

  1. Each Contracting Party shall encourage the creation of favourable conditions for investors of the other Contracting Party to make investments in its territory.
  2. Subject to its laws, regulations and published policies, each Contracting Party shall admit investments of investors of the other Contracting Party.
  3. This Agreement shall not preclude either Contracting Party from prescribing laws and regulations in connection with the establishment of a new business enterprise or the acquisition or sale of a business enterprise in its territory, provided that such laws and regulations are applied equally to all foreign investors. Decisions taken in conformity with such laws and regulations shall not be subject to the provisions of Articles IX or XI of this Agreement.

Article III

Protection of Investment

  1. Investments or returns of investors of either Contracting Party shall at all times be accorded fair and equitable treatment and shall enjoy full protection and security in the territory of the other Contracting Party.
  2. Each Contracting Party shall grant to investments or returns of investors of the other Contracting Party in its own territory treatment no less favourable than that which it grants to investments or returns of investors of any third State.
  3. Each Contracting Party shall grant investors of the other Contracting Party in its territory, as regards their management, use, enjoyment or disposal of their investments or returns, treatment no less favourable than that which it grants to investors of any third state.
  4. In addition to the provisions of paragraphs (2) and (3) of this Article, each Contracting Party shall, to the extent possible and in accordance with its laws and regulations, grant to investments or returns of investors of the other Contracting Party a treatment no less favourable than that it grants to investments or returns of its own investors.

Article IV

Exceptions

The provisions of this Agreement shall not be construed so as to oblige one Contracting Party to extend to the investors of the other Contracting Party the benefits of any treatment, preference or privilege resulting from participation in:

  1. any existing or future free trade area or customs union;
  2. any multilateral agreement for mutual economic assistance, integration or cooperation to which either of the contracting Parties is or may become a party;
  3. any bilateral convention, including any customs agreement, in force on the date of entry into force of this Agreement which contains provisions similar to those contained in paragraph (b) above; or
  4. any existing or future convention relating to double taxation or other fiscal matters.

Article V

Compensation for Losses

Investors of one Contracting Party whose investments or returns in the territory of the other contracting Party suffer losses owing to war, other armed conflicts, a state of national emergency or other similar circumstances in the territory of the latter shall be accorded, as regards restitution, indemnification, compensation or other settlement, treatment no less favourable than that which the latter Contracting Party grants to investors of any third state. Any payment made under this Article shall be prompt, adequate, effective and freely transferable without delay.

Article VI

Expropriation

Investments or returns of investors of either Contracting Party shall not be nationalized, expropriated or subjected to measures having an effect equivalent to nationalization or expropriation (hereinafter referred to as "expropriation") in the territory of the other Contracting Party except for a public purpose, under due process of law, in a non-discriminatory manner and provided that it is accompanied by prompt, adequate and effective compensation. Such compensation shall be based on the market value of the investment expropriated, immediately before the expropriation and shall include interest at a normal commercial rate until the date of payment, be effectively realizable and freely transferable. The investor affected shall have a right, under the law of the Contracting Party making the expropriation, to prompt review by a judicial or other independent authority of that Contracting Party of its case and of the valuation of its investment in accordance with the principles set out in this Article.

Article VII

Transfer of Funds

  1. Each Contracting Party shall guarantee to any investor of the other Contracting Party the transfer without delay of, in particular:
    1. the returns accruing from any investment;
    2. the proceeds of the total or partial liquidation of any investment;
    3. funds in repayment of loans related to an investment;
    4. the corresponding part of wages and other remuneration accruing to a citizen of that other Contracting Party who was permitted to work in connection with an investment in the territory of the former Contracting Party subject to laws and regulations of that Contracting Party; and
    5. any compensation owed to an investor by virtue of Articles V or VI of this Agreement;

    in any convertible currency agreed upon between the investor and the Contracting Party concerned at the exchange rate on the day of the transfer.

    For the purpose of this paragraph, transfer without delay means transfer within a period not exceeding six months.

  2. In cases where exceptional balance of payments difficulties exist, and then for a period not exceeding eighteen months, the contracting Party shall guarantee the transfer of any amount mentioned in paragraph (1) of this Article on a pro rata basis, provided that the total period for the transfer does not exceed five years.
  3. The Contracting Parties undertake to accord to transfers referred to in paragraph (1) of this Article a treatment no less favourable than that accorded to transfers originating from investments made by investors of any third state.

Article VIII

Subrogation

  1. If a Contracting Party or any agency thereof makes a payment to any of its investors under a guarantee or insurance it has contracted in respect of an investment, the other Contracting Party shall recognize the validity of the subrogation in favour of the former Contracting Party or agency thereof to any right or title held by the investor.
  2. A Contracting Party or any agency thereof which is subrogated in the rights of a investor in accordance with paragraph (1) of this Article, shall be entitled in all circumstances to the same rights as those of the investor in respect of the investment concerned and its related returns. Such rights may be exercised by the Contracting Party or any agency thereof or by the investor if the Contracting Party or any agency thereof so authorizes.

Article IX

Settlement of Disputes between an Investor and the Host Contracting Party

  1. Any dispute between one Contracting Party and an investor of the other Contracting Party relating to the expropriation mentioned in Article VI of this Agreement shall, to the extent possible, be settled amicably. If the dispute has not been settled amicably within a period of six months from the date on which the dispute was initiated, it may be submitted by the investor to arbitration in accordance with paragraph (3) of this Article.
  2. Any dispute that may arise under this Agreement between one Contracting Party and an investor of the other contracting Party, other than a dispute mentioned in paragraph (1) of this Article, shall, to the extent possible, be settled amicably. If the dispute has not been settled amicably within a period of six months from the date on which the dispute was initiated, it shall be submitted to arbitration in accordance with paragraph (3) of this Article, upon agreement between that Contracting Party and the investor.
  3. In those cases, the disputes shall then be settled in conformity with either:
    1. the Arbitration Rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, as adopted in Resolution 31/98 of the United Nations General Assembly on 15 December 1976, or
    2. the rules of the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of other States of 18 March 1965, when both Contracting Parties are bound by it.

Article X

Consultations and Exchange of Information

Upon request by either Contracting Party, the other Contracting Party shall agree to consultations on the interpretation or application of this Agreement. Upon request by either Contracting Party, information shall be exchanged on the impact that the laws, regulations, decisions, administrative practices or procedures, or policies of the other Contracting Party may have on investments covered by this Agreement.

Article XI

Disputes between the Contracting Parties

  1. Any dispute between the Contracting Parties concerning the interpretation or application of this Agreement shall, whenever possible, be settled through diplomatic channels.
  2. If the dispute cannot be settled through diplomatic channels within six months, it shall, at the request of either Contracting Party, be submitted to an arbitral tribunal for decision.
  3. The Arbitral tribunal shall be constituted for each dispute. Within two months after receiving the request for arbitration, each Contracting Party shall appoint one member to the Arbitral tribunal. The two members shall then select a national of a third State who, upon approval by the two Contracting Parties, shall be appointed Chairman of the Arbitral tribunal. The Chairman shall be appointed within two months from the date of appointment of the other two members of the Arbitral tribunal.
  4. If within the periods specified in paragraph (3) of this Article the necessary appointments have not been made, either contracting Party may, in the absence of any other agreement, invite the President of the International Court of Justice to make the necessary appointments. If the President is a national of either Contracting Party or is otherwise prevented from discharging the said function, the Vice-President shall be invited to make the necessary appointments. If the Vice-President is a national of either Contracting Party or is prevented from discharging the said function, the Member of the International Court of Justice next in seniority, who is not a national of either Contracting Party, shall be invited to make the necessary appointments.
  5. The arbitral tribunal shall reach its decision by a majority of votes. Such decision shall be binding on both Contracting Parties. Unless otherwise agreed, the decision of the arbitral tribunal shall be rendered within six months of the appointment of the Chairman in accordance with paragraph (3) or (4) of this Article. The arbitral tribunal shall determine its own procedure. Each Contracting Party shall bear the costs of its own member of the tribunal and of its representation in the arbitral proceedings; the costs related to the Chairman and any remaining costs shall be borne equally by the Contracting Parties. The arbitral tribunal may, however, in its decision direct that a higher proportion of costs shall be borne by one of the two Contracting Parties, and this award shall be binding on both Contracting Parties.

Article XII

Amendments

This Agreement may be amended by mutual consent of the Contracting Parties. Amendments shall enter into force on a date which shall be mutually agreed upon through an exchange of notes on this matter.

Article XIII

Other International Agreements

Where a matter is covered both by the provisions of this Agreement and any other international agreement to which both Contracting Parties are bound, nothing, in this Agreement shall prevent an investor of one Contracting Party that has investments in the territory of the other contracting Party from benefitting from the most favourable regime.

Article XIV

Final Provisions

  1. This Agreement shall enter into force 30 days after the date on which the two countries are notified in writing that their constitutional requirements for the entry into force of this Agreement have been fulfilled.
  2. This Agreement shall apply to any investment made by an investor of one Contracting Party in the territory of the other Contracting Party on or after January 1st 1973.
  3. This Agreement shall remain in force for a period of ten years and will continue in force thereafter unless either Contracting Party notifies in writing the other Contracting Party of its intention to terminate it. The notice of termination of this Agreement shall become effective one year after it has been received by the other Contracting Party. In respect of investments made prior to the date when the notice of termination of this Agreement becomes effective, the provisions of Articles I to XIII inclusive of this Agreement shall remain in force for a period of twenty years.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, being duly authorized by their respective Governments, have signed this Agreement.

DONE in Ottawa, this 3rd day of October, 1991 in duplicate in the English, French and Hungarian languages, each version being equally authentic.


Barbara J. McDougall
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Geza Jeszensky
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF HUNGARY

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Information sur les traités du Canada

treaty-accord.gc.ca

Voir le traité - F101513

Si vous ne pouvez accéder au document, veuillez communiquer par courriel à l'adresse suivante : info.jlab@dfait-maeci.gc.ca, pour obtenir un nouveau texte en format HTML.

Accord entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République de Hongrie sur l’encouragement et la protection réciproque des investissements

F101513 - RTC 1993 No 14

Le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Hongrie (appelés ci-après les “Parties contractantes”);

Reconnaissant que l’encouragement et la protection réciproque des investissements d’une Partie contractante sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante sont propres à stimuler les initiatives commerciales et à renforcer la coopération économique entre les deux Parties contractantes,

Sont convenus de ce qui suit :

ARTICLE I

Définitions

Aux fins du présent Accord :

  1. le terme « territoire » désigne :
    1. en ce qui concerne le Canada, le territoire du Canada, ainsi que les zones maritimes, y compris les fonds marins et le sous-sol adjacents à la limite extérieure de la mer territoriale, sur lesquelles le Canada exerce des droits souverains, en conformité avec le droit international, aux fins de prospection et d’exploitation des ressources naturelles présentes dans ces zones;
    2. en ce qui concerne la République de Hongrie, le territoire de la République de Hongrie.
  2. le terme « investissement » désigne les avoirs de toute nature investis par un investisseur de l’une des Parties contractantes sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante, et plus particulièrement mais non exclusivement :
    1. les biens meubles et immeubles ainsi que tous droits de propriété s’y rapportant;
    2. les actions, titres, obligations et obligations non garanties ou toutes autres formes de participation, y compris toute participation minoritaire ou indirecte à une société ou à une entreprise commerciale;
    3. les créances et les droits à prestations contractuelles ayant valeur financière;
    4. les droits de propriété intellectuelle, ce qui comprend les droits d’auteurs, les brevets, les marques et noms déposés, les dessins industriels, les incorporels, les secrets commerciaux ainsi que le savoir-faire;
    5. les droits à concessions commerciales accordés par la loi ou en vertu d’un contrat, relatifs notamment à la prospection, la culture, l’extraction ou l’exploitation de ressources naturelles;
    6. les droits à activité économique et commerciale accordés par la loi ou en vertu d’un contrat.
      Toute modification de la forme d’un investissement n’affecte pas sa qualification d’investissement.
  3. le terme « revenus » désigne toutes les sommes produites par un investissement, en particulier mais non exclusivement, les bénéfices, les intérêts, les gains en capital, les dividendes, les redevances, les rémunérations ou autres revenus courants;
  4. le terme « investisseur » désigne à l’égard de chacune des Parties contractantes :
    1. toute personne physique possédant la citoyenneté de l’une des Parties contractantes conformément à la législation de cette Partie contractante; ou
    2. toute société, société de personnes, société de fiducie, société en participation, organisation, association ou entreprise régulièrement constituée conformément aux lois applicables de cette Partie contractante, directement ou indirectement controlée par les ressortissants de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes;
    3. si l’investissement est effectué par l’intermédiaire d’un organisme non visé par l’alinéa (d) (ii) du présent Article dans lequel il détient une participation au capital, l’investisseur jouira des avantages du présent Accord dans la mesure de cette participation indirecte, si ce n’est, toutefois, que ces avantages ne lui reviendront pas s’il invoque le mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu par un autre accord de protection des investissements étrangers conclu par la Partie contractante sur le territoire de laquelle est effectué l’investissement.

Advenant un désaccord au sujet de la nationalité d’un investisseur, les Parties contractantes se consultent, dans le but d’arriver à une entente mutuellement satisfaisante.

ARTICLE II

Encouragement des investissements

  1. Chaque Partie contractante encourage la création de conditions favorables, propres à inciter les investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante à effectuer des investissements sur son territoire.
  2. Sous réserve de ses lois, règlements et politiques publiées, chaque Partie contractante admet les investissements effectués par les investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante.
  3. Le présent Accord n’empêche aucune des Parties contractantes de prescrire des lois et des règlements concernant l’établissement de nouvelles entreprises commerciales, l’acquisition ou la vente d’entreprises commerciales sur son territoire, à condition que ces lois et règlements soient appliqués également à tous les investisseurs étrangers. Les décisions prises en conformité avec ces lois et règlements ne sont pas assujetties aux dispositions des articles IX ou XI du présent Accord.

ARTICLE III

Protection des investissements

  1. Les investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes bénéficient en tout temps d’un traitement juste et équitable et jouissent d’une protection et d’une sécurité pleines et entières sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante.
  2. Chaque Partie contractante accorde, sur son territoire, aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de tout État tiers.
  3. Chaque Partie contractante accorde, sur son territoire, aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante, en ce qui concerne la gestion, l’utilisation, la jouissance ou la liquidation de leurs investissements ou revenus, un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux investisseurs de tout État tiers.
  4. Outre les dispositions des paragraphes (2) et (3) du présent Article, chaque Partie contractante accorde, dans toute la mesure possible et en conformité avec ses lois et règlements, aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde à ses propres investisseurs, ainsi qu’à leurs investissements ou revenus.

ARTICLE IV

Exceptions

Les dispositions du présent Accord ne doivent pas être interprétées comme obligeant une Partie contractante à accorder aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante les avantages de tout traitement, de toute préférence ou de tout privilège découlant de sa participation à :

  1. une zone de libre-échange ou une union douanière existantes ou futures;
  2. un accord multilatéral d’assistance économique mutuelle, d’intégration ou de coopération auquel l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes est ou peut devenir partie;
  3. une convention bilatérale, y compris tout accord douanier, en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent Accord et qui comporte des dispositions analogues à celles figurant au paragraphe (b) ci-dessus; ou
  4. une convention existante ou future de non-double imposition ou relative à d’autres questions fiscales.

ARTICLE V

Compensation pour pertes

Les investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes dont les investissements ou revenus sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante subissent des pertes dues à la guerre, à tout autre conflit armé, à un état d’urgence nationale ou à toute autre situation d’effets similaires survenue sur le territoire de cette dernière se voient accorder, en ce qui concerne la restitution, l’indemnisation, la compensation ou autre règlement, un traitement non moins favorable que celui que cette dernière Partie contractante accorde aux investisseurs de tout État tiers. Les versements effectués au titre du présent Article devront être prompts, adéquats, effectifs et librement transférables, sans délai.

ARTICLE VI

Expropriation

Les investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes ne doivent pas faire l’objet, sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante, de mesures de nationalisation ou d’expropriation ou de toutes autres mesures d’effets équivalents (ci-après dénommées “expropriation”), si ce n’est pour cause d’utilité publique et à condition que ces mesures soient conformes aux voies de droit régulières, qu’elles soient appliquées d’une manière non discriminatoire et qu’elles s’accompagnent du versement d’une compensation prompte, adéquate et effective dont le montant doit correspondre à la valeur commerciale de l’investissement ayant fait l’objet de l’expropriation, cette valeur étant celle qui avait cours immédiatement avant ladite expropriation. La compensation, effectivement réalisable et librement transférable, produit, jusqu’à la date de versement, des intérêts calculés au taux commercial normal. L’investisseur concerné a droit, en vertu de la législation de la Partie contractante qui procède à l’expropriation, à une révision prompte de son cas par une autorité judiciaire ou une autre autorité indépendante de cette Partie contractante, ainsi qu’à l’évaluation de son investissement conformément aux principes énoncés dans le présent Article.

ARTICLE VII

Transfert de fonds

  1. Chaque Partie contractante garantit, en particulier, à tout investisseur de l’autre Partie contractante le transfert sans délai :
    1. des revenus provenant de tout investissement;
    2. du produit de la liquidation totale ou partielle de tout investissement;
    3. des sommes destinées au remboursement d’emprunts relatifs à un investissement;
    4. d’une quotité appropriée des salaires et autres rémunérations revenant aux citoyens de cette autre Partie contractante qui ont été autorisés à travailler sur le territoire de la première Partie contractante au titre d’un investissement; et
    5. de toute compensation due à un investisseur en vertu des Articles V ou VI du présent Accord;
      et ce, en toute monnaie convertible fixée d’un commun accord entre l’investisseur et la Partie contractante en cause et au taux de change en vigueur à la date du transfert.
      Aux fins du présent paragraphe, l’expression « transfert sans délai » s’entend d’un transfert effectué dans un délai n’excédant pas six mois.
  2. La Partie contractante qui invoque des difficultés exceptionnelles de balance des paiements et ce, pour une période n’excédant pas dix-huit mois, garantit le transfert au prorata de toute somme mentionnée au paragraphe (1) du présent Article, à condition que le délai total alloué pour le transfert n’excède pas cinq ans.
  3. Les Parties contractantes s’engagent à accorder aux transferts visés au paragraphe (1) du présent Article un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elles accordent aux transferts provenant d’investissements effectués par les investisseurs de tout État tiers.

ARTICLE VIII

Subrogation

  1. Si une Partie contractante ou un organisme de celle-ci fait un paiement à l’un de ses investisseurs en vertu d’une garantie ou d’un contrat d’assurance conclu à l’égard d’un investissement, l’autre Partie contractante doit reconnaître la validité de la subrogation en faveur de la première Partie contractante ou de l’organisme de celle-ci de tout droit ou titre détenu par l’investisseur.
  2. La Partie contractante ou l’organisme de celle-ci qui, par subrogation, devient titulaire des droits d’un investisseur conformément au paragraphe (1) du présent Article, jouit en toutes circonstances des mêmes droits que l’investisseur en ce qui concerne l’investissement visé et les revenus qui en découlent. Ces droits peuvent être exercés par la Partie contractante ou l’organisme de celle-ci, ou par l’investisseur si la Partie contractante ou l’organisme de celle-ci l’y autorise.

ARTICLE IX

Règlement des différends entre un investisseur et la Partie contractante d’accueil

  1. Tout différend entre l’une des Parties contractantes et un investisseur de l’autre Partie contractante relatif à l’expropriation visée à l’Article VI du présent Accord est, autant que possible, réglé à l’amiable. si un tel différend n’a pu être réglé à l’amiable dans un délai de six mois à compter du moment où il a été soulevé, il peut être soumis par l’investisseur à l’arbitrage conformément aux procédures prévues au paragraphe (3) du présent Article.
  2. Tout différend, autre qu’un différend visé au paragraphe (1) du présent Article, pouvant surgir dans le cadre du présent Accord entre l’une des Parties contractantes et un investisseur de l’autre Partie contractante est, autant que possible, réglé à l’amiable. Si un tel différend n’a pu être réglé à l’amiable dans un délai de six mois à compter du moment où il a été soulevé, il est soumis à l’arbitrage conformément aux procédures prévues au paragraphe (3) du présent Article, selon qu’en conviendront la Partie contractante et l’investisseur en cause.
  3. Dans ces cas, les différends seront réglés conformément :
    1. au Règlement d’arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international, tel qu’il a été adopté par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies dans sa résolution 31/98 du 15 décembre 1976, ou
    2. aux dispositions de la Convention pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements entre États et ressortissants d’autres États du 18 mars 1965, lorsque les deux Parties contractantes seront liées par cette Convention.

ARTICLE X

Consultations et échange de renseignements

À la demande de l’une des Parties contractantes, l’autre Partie contractante consent à des consultations portant sur l’interprétation ou l’application du présent Accord. Les deux Parties contractantes, à la demande de l’une ou l’autre, échangent des renseignements quant aux effets que les lois, règlements, décisions, pratiques ou procédures administratives, ou politiques de l’autre Partie contractante peuvent avoir sur les investissements visés par le présent Accord.

ARTICLE XI

Différends entre les Parties contractantes

  1. Tout différend entre les Parties contractantes relatif à l’interprétation ou à l’application du présent Accord doit être réglé, si possible, par la voie diplomatique.
  2. S’il ne peut être réglé par la voie diplomatique dans un délai de six mois, le différend est soumis pour décision, à la demande de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes, à un tribunal d’arbitrage.
  3. Le tribunal d’arbitrage est constitué pour chaque cas particulier. Chaque Partie contractante désignera un membre du tribunal dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la réception de la demande d’arbitrage; les deux membres choisissent ensuite un ressortissant d’un État tiers qui, avec l’approbation des deux Parties contractantes, sera président du tribunal. Le président doit être désigné dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la date de désignation des deux autres membres du tribunal.
  4. Si, dans les délais prescrits au paragraphe (3) du présent Article, les arbitres n’ont pas été désignés, l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes peut, à défaut de toute autre entente, inviter le Président de la Cour internationale de Justice à procéder aux désignations nécessaires. Si le président est ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes ou si, pour quelque autre raison, il ne peut s’acquitter de cette mission, le Vice-Président est invité à faire les désignations demandées. Si le Vice-Président est ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes ou ne peut s’acquitter de ladite mission, le membre de la Cour internationale de Justice le plus ancien après lui qui n’est pas ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes est invité à procéder aux désignations nécessaires.
  5. Le tribunal d’arbitrage prend sa décision à la majorité des voix. Cette décision est obligatoire pour les deux Parties contractantes. Sauf entente contraire, la décision du tribunal devra être rendue dans un délai de six mois à compter de la désignation du président conformément aux paragraphes (3) ou (4) du présent Article. Le tribunal fixe sa propre procédure. Chaque Partie contractante supporte les frais de son membre du tribunal et de sa représentation dans la procédure arbitrale; les frais relatifs au président et tous frais restants sont supportés à part égale par les Parties contractantes. Le tribunal peut toutefois disposer dans sa décision qu’une proportion plus élevée des frais doit être supportée par l’une des Parties contractantes, et cette disposition est obligatoire pour les deux Parties contractantes.

ARTICLE XII

Modifications

Le présent Accord peut être modifié par consentement mutuel des Parties contractantes. Les modifications entreront en vigueur à une date dont il est mutuellement convenu par un échange de notes.

ARTICLE XIII

Autres accords internationaux

Lorsqu’une question est visée à la fois par le présent Accord et par un autre accord international liant les deux Parties contractantes, aucune disposition du présent Accord n’empêche les investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes qui ont des investissements sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante, de bénéficier du régime qui leur est le plus favorable.

ARTICLE XIV

Dispositions finales

  1. Le présent Accord entre en vigueur trente (30) jours après la date à laquelle les deux Parties contractantes se notifient par écrit l’accomplissement des procédures constitutionnelles requises à cet effet.
  2. Le présent Accord s’applique à tout investissement d’un investisseur de l’une des Parties contractantes sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante effectué le ler janvier 1973 ou après cette date.
  3. Le présent Accord sera en vigueur pour une période initiale de dix ans. Il restera en vigueur par la suite tant que l’une des Parties contractantes son intention de le dénoncer. L’avis de dénonciation prendra effet un an après la date de sa réception par l’autre Partie contractante. En ce qui concerne les investissements effectués avant la date à laquelle prend effet l’avis de dénonciation, les dispositions des Articles I à XIII inclusivement du présent Accord resteront en vigueur pendant une période de vingt ans.

EN FOI DE QUOI les soussignés, dûment autorisés par leurs gouvernements respectifs, ont signé le présent Accord.

FAIT à Ottawa le 3 octobre 1991, en deux exemplaires, en anglais, en français et en hongrois, chaque version faisant également foi.

Barbara J. McDougall
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Geza Jeszensky
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE HONGRIE