Symbol of the Government of Canada

Canada Treaty Information

treaty-accord.gc.ca

View Treaty - E101516

If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us by e-mail at: info.jlab@dfait-maeci.gc.ca, for obtaining a new document in HTML format.

Agreement Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments

E101516 - CTS 1991 No. 31

The Government of Canada and the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, hereinafter referred to as the "Contracting Parties";

Recognizing that the promotion and the reciprocal protection of investments of investors of one State in the territory of the other State will be conducive to the stimulation of business initiative in both States and to the development of economic co-operation between them;

Have agreed as follows:

Article I

Definitions

For the purpose of this Agreement:

  1. the term "territory" means the territory of Canada or the territory of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics respectively, as well as those maritime areas, including the seabed and subsoil adjacent to the outer limit of the territorial sea of either of the above territories, over which the State concerned exercises, in accordance with international law, sovereign rights for the purpose of exploration and exploitation of the natural resources of such areas;
  2. the term "investment" means any kind of asset invested either directly, or indirectly through an investor of a third State, by an investor of one Contracting Party in the territory of the other Contracting Party and in particular, though not exclusively, shall include:
    1. any movable and immovable property and any related property rights, such as mortgages;
    2. shares, stock, bonds and debentures or any other form of participation in a company, business enterprise or joint venture;
    3. claims to money, and claims to performance under contract having a financial value;
    4. any intellectual property rights, including rights with respect to copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade names, industrial designs, trade secrets as well as know-how;
    5. rights, conferred by law or under contract, to undertake any economic and commercial activity, including any rights to search for, cultivate, extract or exploit natural resources.

    Any change in the form of an investment does not affect its character as an investment;

  3. the term "returns" means all amounts yielded by an investment and in particular, though not exclusively, profits, interest, capital gains, dividends, royalties, fees or other current income;
  4. the term "investor" means with regard to either Contracting Party:
    1. any natural person possessing the citizenship of or permanently residing in a Contracting Party in accordance with its laws; or
    2. any corporation, partnership, trust, joint venture, organization, association or enterprise incorporated or duly constituted in accordance with applicable laws of that Contracting Party;

    provided that such natural person, corporation, partnership, trust, joint venture, organization, association or enterprise has the legal right, in accordance with the laws of that Contracting Party, to make investments in the territory of the other Contracting Party.

Article II

Promotion of Investment

  1. Each Contracting Party shall encourage the creation of favourable conditions for investors of the other Contracting Party to make investments in its territory.
  2. Subject to its laws, regulations and published policies, each Contracting Party shall admit investments of investors of the other Contracting Party.
  3. This Agreement shall not preclude either Contracting Party from prescribing laws and regulations in connection with the establishment of a new business enterprise or the acquisition or sale of a business enterprise in its territory, provided that such laws and regulations are applied equally to all foreign investors. Decisions taken in conformity with such laws and regulations shall not be subject to the provisions of Articles IX or XI of this Agreement.

Article III

Protection of Investment

  1. Investments or returns of investors of either Contracting Party shall at all times be accorded fair and equitable treatment in accordance with principles of international law and shall enjoy full protection and security in the territory of the other Contracting Party.
  2. Each Contracting Party shall grant to investments or returns of investors of the other Contracting Party in its own territory treatment no less favourable than that which it grants to investments or returns of investors of any third State.
  3. Each Contracting Party shall grant investors of the other Contracting Party in its territory, as regards their management, use, enjoyment or disposal of their investments or returns, treatment no less favourable than that which it grants to investors of any third State.
  4. In addition to the provisions of paragraphs (2) and (3) of this Article, each Contracting Party shall, to the extent possible and in accordance with its laws and regulations, grant to investments or returns of investors of the other Contracting Party a treatment no less favourable than that it grants to investments or returns of its own investors.

Article IV

Exceptions

The provisions of this Agreement shall not be construed so as to oblige one Contracting Party to extend to the investors of the other Contracting Party the benefits of any treatment, preference or privilege resulting from participation in:

  1. any existing or future free trade area or customs union;
  2. any multilateral agreement for mutual economic assistance, integration or co-operation to which either of the Contracting Parties is or may become a party;
  3. any bilateral convention, including any customs agreement, in force on the date of entry into force of this Agreement which contains provisions similar to those contained in paragraph (b) above; or
  4. any existing or future convention relating to double taxation or other fiscal matters.

Article V

Compensation for Losses

Investors of one Contracting Party whose investments or returns in the territory of the other Contracting Party suffer losses owing to war, other armed conflicts, a state of national emergency or other similar circumstances in the territory of the latter shall be accorded, as regards restitution, indemnification, compensation or other settlement, treatment no less favourable than that which the latter Contracting Party grants to investors of any third State. Any payment made under this Article shall be prompt, adequate, effective and freely transferable.

Article VI

Expropriation

Investments or returns of investors of either Contracting Party shall not be nationalized, expropriated or subjected to measures having an effect equivalent to nationalization or expropriation (hereinafter referred to as "expropriation") in the territory of the other Contracting Party except for a public purpose, under due process of law, in a non-discriminatory manner and provided that it is accompanied by prompt, adequate and effective compensation. Such compensation shall be based on the real value of the investment at the time of the expropriation, shall be made within two months of the date of expropriation, after which interest at a normal commercial rate shall accrue until the date of payment, be effectively realizable and freely transferable. The investor affected shall have a right, under the law of the Contracting Party making the expropriation, to prompt review by a judicial or other independent authority of that Contracting Party of its case and of the valuation of its investment in accordance with the principles set out in this Article.

Article VII

Transfer of Funds

  1. Each Contracting Party shall guarantee to any investor of the other Contracting Party the prompt transfer of, in particular:
    1. the returns accruing from any investment;
    2. the proceeds of the total or partial liquidation of any investment;
    3. funds in repayment of loans related to an investment;
    4. the corresponding part of wages and other remuneration accruing to a citizen of that other Contracting Party who was permitted to work in connection with an investment in the territory of the former Contracting Party; and
    5. any compensation owed to an investor by virtue of Articles V or VI of this Agreement;

    in any convertible currency agreed upon between the investor and the Contracting Party concerned at the exchange rate on the day of the transfer.

    For the purpose of this paragraph, prompt transfer means transfer on a pro rata basis within a period not exceeding two years.

  2. In cases where exceptional balance of payments difficulties exist, and then for a period not exceeding eighteen months, the Contracting Party shall guarantee the transfer of any amount mentioned in paragraph (1) of this Article on a pro rata basis, provided that the total period for the transfer does not exceed five years.
  3. The Contracting Parties undertake to accord to transfers referred to in paragraph (1) of this Article a treatment no less favourable than that accorded to transfers originating from investments made by investors of any third State.

Article VIII

Subrogation

  1. If a Contracting Party or any agency thereof makes a payment to any of its investors under a guarantee or insurance it, has contracted in respect of an investment, the other Contracting Party shall recognize the validity of the subrogation in favour of such Contracting Party or agency thereof to any right or title held by the investor.
  2. A Contracting Party or any agency thereof which is subrogated in the rights of an investor in accordance with paragraph (1) of this Article, shall be entitled in all circumstances to the same rights as those of the investor in respect of the investment concerned and its related returns. Such rights may be exercised by the Contracting Party or any agency thereof or by the investor if the Contracting Party or any agency thereof so authorizes.

Article IX

Settlement of Disputes between an Investor and the Host Contracting Party

  1. Any dispute between one Contracting Party and an investor of the other Contracting Party relating to the effects of a measure taken by the former Contracting Party on the management, use, enjoyment or disposal of an investment made by the investor, and in particular, but not exclusively, relating to the effects of a measure on the transport and sale of goods, on the expropriation mentioned in Article VI of this Agreement or on the transfer of funds mentioned in Article VII of this Agreement, shall, to the extent possible, be settled amicably between both parties concerned.
  2. If the dispute has not been settled amicably within a period of six months from the date on which the dispute was initiated, it may be submitted by the investor to arbitration.
  3. In that case, the dispute shall then be settled in conformity with the Arbitration Rules of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, as adopted in Resolution 31/98 of the United Nations General Assembly on 15 December 1976.

Article X

Consultations and Exchange of Information

Upon request by either Contracting Party, the other Contracting Party shall agree promptly to consultations on the interpretation or application of this Agreement. Upon request by either Contracting Party, information shall be exchanged on the impact that the laws, regulations, decisions, administrative practices or procedures, or policies of title other Contracting Party may have on investments covered by this Agreement.

Article XI

Disputes between the Contracting Parties

  1. Any dispute between the Contracting Parties concerning the interpretation or application of this Agreement shall, whenever possible, be settled through diplomatic channels.
  2. If the dispute cannot be settled through diplomatic channels, it shall, at the request of either Contracting Party, be submitted to an arbitral tribunal for decision.
  3. The arbitral tribunal shall be constituted for each dispute. Within two months after receiving the request for arbitration, each Contracting Party shall appoint one member to the arbitral tribunal. The two members shall then select a national of a third State who, upon approval by the two Contracting Parties, shall be appointed Chairman of the arbitral tribunal. The Chairman shall be appointed within two months from the date of appointment of the other two members of the Arbitral tribunal.
  4. If within the periods specified in paragraph (3) of this Article the necessary appointments have not been made, either Contracting Party may, in the absence of any other agreement, invite the President of the International Court of Justice to make the necessary appointments. If the President is a national of either Contracting Party or is otherwise prevented from discharging the said function, the Vice-President shall be invited to make the necessary appointments. If the Vice-President is a national of either Contracting Party or is prevented from discharging the said function, the Member of the International Court of Justice next in seniority, who is not a national of either Contracting Party, shall be invited to make the necessary appointments.
  5. The arbitral tribunal shall reach its decision by a majority of votes. Such decision shall be binding on both Contracting Parties. Unless otherwise agreed, the decision of the arbitral tribunal shall be rendered within six months of the appointment of the Chairman in accordance with paragraph (3) or (4) of this Article. The arbitral tribunal shall determine its own procedure. Each Contracting Party shall bear the costs of its own member of the tribunal and of its representation in the arbitral proceedings; the costs related to the Chairman and any remaining costs shall be borne equally by the Contracting Parties. The arbitral tribunal may, however, in its decision direct that a higher proportion of costs shall be borne by one of the two Contracting Parties, and this award shall be binding on both Contracting Parties.

Article XII

Amendments

This Agreement may be amended by mutual consent of the Contracting Parties. Such amendments shall enter into force on a date which shall be mutually agreed upon through an exchange of notes on this matter.

Article XIII

Other International Agreements

Where a matter is covered both by the provisions of this Agreement and any other international agreement to which both Contracting Parties are bound, nothing in this Agreement shall prevent an investor of one Contracting Party that has investments in the territory of the other Contracting Party from benefitting from the most favourable regime.

Article XIV

Entry into Force

  1. This Agreement shall enter into force on the day the two Contracting Parties notify each other in writing that their constitutional requirements for the entry into force of this Agreement have been fulfilled.
  2. This Agreement shall apply to any investment made by an investor of one Contracting Party in the territory of the other Contracting Party on or after January 1st 1950.
  3. This Agreement shall remain in force unless either Contracting Party notifies in writing the other Contracting Party of its intention to terminate it. The notice of termination of this Agreement shall become effective one year after it has been received by the other Contracting Party. In respect of investments made prior to the date when the notice of termination of this Agreement becomes effective, the provisions of Articles I to XIII inclusive of this Agreement shall remain in force for a period of twenty years.

DONE in duplicate at Moscow this 20 day of November, 1989, in the English, French and Russian languages, all texts being equally authentic.


Brian Mulroney
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Nikolai I. Ryzhkov
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE UNION OF SOVIET SOCIALIST REPUBLICS

Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Information sur les traités du Canada

treaty-accord.gc.ca

Voir le traité - F101516

Si vous ne pouvez accéder au document, veuillez communiquer par courriel à l'adresse suivante : info.jlab@dfait-maeci.gc.ca, pour obtenir un nouveau texte en format HTML.

Accord entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de l’Union des Républiques socialistes soviétiques sur l’encouragement et la protection réciproque des investissements

F101516 - RTC 1991 No 31

Le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de l’Union des Républiques socialistes soviétiques, ci-après dénommés les “Parties contractantes”,

Reconnaissant que l’encouragement et la protection réciproque des investissements effectués par les investisseurs d’un État sur le territoire de l’autre État sont propres à stimuler les initiatives commerciales dans l’un et l’autre États et à renforcer la coopération économique entre les deux États,

Sont convenus de ce qui suit :

ARTICLE 1

Définitions Aux fins du présent Accord :

  1. Le terme “territoire” désigne le territoire du Canada et le territoire de l’Union des Républiques socialistes soviétiques, respectivement, ainsi que les zones maritimes, y compris les fonds marins et le sous-sol adjacents à la limite extérieure de la mer territoriale de l’un ou l’autre des territoires susvisés, sur lesquelles l’État concerné exerce des droits souverains, en conformité avec le droit international, aux fins de prospection et d’exploitation des ressources naturelles présentes dans ces zones;
  2. Le terme “investissement” désigne les avoirs de toute nature investis par un investisseur de l’une des Parties contractantes sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante, soit directement, soit indirectement par l’intermédiaire d’un investisseur d’un État tiers, et plus particulièrement mais non exclusivement :
    1. les biens meubles et immeubles et tous droits de propriété s’y rapportant, comme les hypothèques;
    2. les actions, titres, obligations et obligations non garanties ou toute autre forme de participation à une société, à une entreprise commerciale ou à une joint venture;
    3. les créances et les droits à prestations contractuelles ayant valeur financière;
    4. les droits de propriété intellectuelle, ce qui comprend les droits d’auteur et les droits concernant les brevets, les marques et noms déposés, les dessins industriels, les secrets commerciaux ainsi que le savoir-faire;
    5. les droits à activité économique et commerciale accordés par la loi ou en vertu d’un contrat, relatifs notamment à la prospection, la culture, l’extraction ou l’exploitation de ressources naturelles.
      Toute modification de la forme d’un investissement n’affecte pas sa qualification d’investissement.
  3. Le terme “revenus” désigne toutes les sommes produites par un investissement, en particulier mais non exclusivement, les bénéfices, les intérêts, les gains en capital, les dividendes, les royalties, les rémunérations ou autres revenus courants.
  4. Le terme “investisseur” désigne, en ce qui concerne chacune des deux Parties contractantes :
    1. toute personne physique possédant la citoyenneté ou résidant en permanence sur le territoire de l’une des Parties contractantes conformément à la législation de cette Partie contractante; ou
    2. toute société par actions, société, société de fiducie, joint venture, organisation, association ou entreprise enregistrée ou dûment constituée conformément aux lois applicables de cette Partie contractante;
      à condition que cette personne physique, société par actions, société, société de fiducie, joint venture, organisation, association ou entreprise ait, conformément à la législation de ladite Partie contractante, qualité juridique pour effectuer des investissements sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante.

ARTICLE II

Encouragement des investissements

  1. Chaque Partie contractante encourage la création de conditions favorables, propres à inciter les investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante à effectuer des investissements sur son territoire.
  2. Sous réserve de ses lois, règlements et politiques publiées, chaque Partie contractante admet les investissements effectués par les investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante.
  3. Le présent Accord n’empêche aucune des Parties contractantes de prescrire des lois et des règlements concernant l’établissement d’une nouvelle entreprise commerciale, l’acquisition ou la vente d’une entreprise commerciale sur son territoire, à condition que ces lois et règlements soient appliqués également à tous les investisseurs étrangers. Les décisions prises en conformité avec ces lois et règlements ne sont pas assujetties aux dispositions des Articles IX et XI du présent Accord.

ARTICLE III

Protection des investissements

  1. Les investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes bénéficient en tout temps d’un traitement juste et équitable, en conformité avec les principes du droit international, et jouissent d’une protection et d’une sécurité pleines et entières sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante.
  2. Chaque Partie contractante accorde, sur son territoire, aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de tout État tiers.
  3. Chaque Partie contractante accorde, sur son territoire, aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante, en ce qui concerne la gestion, l’utilisation, la jouissance ou la liquidation de leurs investissements ou revenus, un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux investisseurs de tout État tiers.
  4. Outre les dispositions des paragraphes 2) et 3) du présent Article, chaque Partie contractante accorde, autant que possible et en conformité avec ses lois et règlements, aux investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux investissements ou revenus de ses propres investisseurs.

ARTICLE IV

Exceptions

Les dispositions du présent Accord ne doivent pas être interprétées comme obligeant une Partie contractante à accorder aux investisseurs de l’autre Partie contractante les avantages de tout traitement, de toute préférence ou de tout privilège découlant de sa participation à :

  1. une zone de libre-échange ou une union douanière existantes ou futures;
  2. un accord multilatéral d’assistance économique mutuelle, d’intégration ou de coopération, auquel l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes est ou peut devenir partie;
  3. une convention bilatérale, y compris tout accord douanier, en vigueur à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent Accord et prévoyant des dispositions analogues à celles énoncées au paragraphe b) ci-dessus; ou
  4. une convention existante ou future de non-double imposition ou relative à d’autres questions fiscales.

ARTICLE V

Compensation pour pertes

Les investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes dont les investissements ou revenus sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante auront subi des pertes dues à la guerre, à tout autre conflit armé, à un état d’urgence nationale ou à toute autre situation d’effets similaires survenue sur le territoire de cette dernière se verront accorder, en ce qui concerne la restitution, l’indemnisation, la compensation ou autre règlement, un traitement non moins favorable que celui que cette dernière Partie contractante accorde aux investisseurs de tout État tiers. Tous versements effectués au titre du présent Article devront être prompts, adéquats, effectifs et librement transférables.

ARTICLE VI

Expropriation

Les investissements ou revenus des investisseurs de l’une des Parties contractantes ne font pas l’objet, sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante, de mesures de nationalisation ou d’expropriation ou de toutes autres mesures d’effets équivalents (ci-après dénommées “expropriation”), si ce n’est pour cause d’utilité publique et à condition que ces mesures soient conformes aux voies de droit régulières, qu’elles soient appliquées d’une manière non discriminatoire et qu’elles s’accompagnent du versement d’une compensation prompte, adéquate et effective dont le montant doit correspondre à la valeur réelle de l’investissement au moment de l’expropriation. Cette compensation, effectivement réalisable et librement transférable, est versée dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la date d’expropriation; elle produit, après expiration de ce délai et jusqu’à la date de versement, des intérêts calculés au taux commercial normal. L’investisseur concerné a droit, en vertu de la législation de la Partie contractante qui procède à l’expropriation, à une prompte révision de son cas par une autorité judiciaire ou autre autorité indépendante de cette Partie contractante, ainsi qu’à l’évaluation de son investissement conformément aux principes énoncés dans le présent Article.

ARTICLE VII

Transfert de fonds

  1. Chaque Partie contractante garantit, en particulier, à tout investisseur de l’autre Partie contractante le prompt transfert :
    1. des revenus provenant de tout investissement;
    2. du produit de la liquidation totale ou partielle de tout investissement;
    3. des sommes destinées au remboursement d’emprunts relatifs à un investissement;
    4. d’une quotité appropriée des salaires et autres rémunérations revenant aux citoyens de cette autre Partie contractante qui ont été autorisés à travailler sur le territoire de la première Partie contractante au titre d’un investissement; et
    5. de toute compensation due à un investisseur en vertu des Articles V ou VI du présent Accord;
      et ce, en toute monnaie convertible fixée d’un commun accord entre l’investisseur et la Partie contractante en cause et au taux de change en vigueur à la date du transfert.
      Aux fins du présent paragraphe, l’expression “prompt transfert” s’entend d’un transfert au prorata effectué dans un délai n’excédant pas deux ans.
  2. La Partie contractante qui invoque des difficultés exceptionnelles de la balance des paiements et ce, pour une période n’excédant pas dix-huit mois, garantit le transfert au prorata de toute somme mentionnée au paragraphe 1) du présent Article, à condition que le délai total alloué pour le transfert n’excède pas cinq ans.
  3. Les Parties contractantes s’engagent à accorder aux transferts visés au paragraphe 1) du présent Article un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elles accordent aux transferts provenant d’investissements effectués par les investisseurs de tout État tiers.

ARTICLE VIII

Subrogation

  1. Si une Partie contractante ou un organisme de celle-ci fait un paiement à l’un de ses investisseurs en vertu d’une garantie ou d’une assurance contractée à l’égard d’un investissement, l’autre Partie contractante reconnaît la validité de la subrogation en faveur de la première Partie contractante ou de l’organisme de celle-ci de tout droit ou titre détenu par l’investisseur.
  2. Une Partie contractante ou un organisme de celle-ci qui, par subrogation, devient titulaire des droits d’un investisseur conformément au paragraphe 1) du présent Article, jouit en toutes circonstances des mêmes droits que l’investisseur à l’égard de l’investissement en cause et des revenus qui s’y rapportent. Ces droits peuvent être exercés par la Partie contractante ou l’organisme de celle-ci, ou par l’investisseur si la Partie Contractante ou l’organisme de celle-ci l’y autorise.

ARTICLE IX

Règlement des différends entre un investisseur et la Partie contractante d’accueil

  1. Tout différend entre l’une des Parties contractantes et un investisseur de l’autre Partie contractante relatif aux effets d’une mesure prise par la première Partie contractante sur la gestion, l’utilisation, la jouissance ou la liquidation d’un investissement réalisé par cet investisseur et, en particulier mais non exclusivement, sur les effets d’une mesure touchant le transport et la vente des marchandises, l’expropriation visée à l’Article VI du présent Accord ou le transfert de fonds visé à l’Article VII du présent Accord est, autant que possible, réglé à l’amiable entre les deux parties concernées.
  2. Si un tel différend n’a pu être réglé à l’amiable dans un délai de six mois à compter du moment où il a été soulevé, il pourra être soumis par l’investisseur à l’arbitrage.
  3. Ce différend sera alors réglé conformément au Règlement d’arbitrage de la Commission des Nations Unies pour le droit commercial international, tel qu’il a été adopté par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies dans sa résolution 31/98 du 15 décembre 1976.

ARTICLE X

Consultations et échange d’informations

À la demande de l’une des Parties contractantes, l’autre Partie contractante consent promptement à des consultations portant sur l’interprétation ou l’application du présent Accord. Les deux Parties contractantes, à la demande de l’une ou l’autre, échangent des informations quant aux effets que les lois, règlements, décisions, pratiques ou procédures administratives, ou politiques de l’autre Partie contractante peuvent avoir sur les investissements visés par le présent Accord.

ARTICLE XI

Différends entre les Parties contractantes

  1. Tout différend entre les Parties contractantes relatif à l’interprétation ou à l’application du présent Accord doit être réglé, si possible, par la voie diplomatique.
  2. S’il ne peut être réglé par la voie diplomatique, le différend est soumis pour décision, à la demande de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes, à un Tribunal d’arbitrage.
  3. Le Tribunal d’arbitrage sera constitué pour chaque cas particulier. Chaque Partie contractante désignera un membre du Tribunal dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la réception de la demande d’arbitrage, et les deux membres choisiront ensuite un ressortissant d’un État tiers qui, avec l’approbation des deux Parties contractantes, sera président du Tribunal. Le président devra être nommé dans un délai de deux mois à compter de la date de désignation des deux autres membres du Tribunal.
  4. Si, dans les délais prescrits au paragraphe 3) du présent Article, les arbitres n’ont pas été désignés, l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes pourra, en l’absence de toute autre entente, inviter le Président de la Cour internationale de Justice à procéder aux désignations nécessaires. Si le Président est ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes ou si, pour quelque autre raison, il ne peut s’acquitter de cette mission, le Vice-Président sera invité à faire les désignations demandées. Si le Vice-Président est ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes ou ne peut s’acquitter de ladite mission, le membre de la Cour internationale de Justice le plus ancien après lui qui n’est pas ressortissant de l’une ou l’autre des Parties contractantes sera invité à procéder aux désignations nécessaires.
  5. Le Tribunal d’arbitrage prendra sa décision à la majorité des voix. Cette décision sera obligatoire pour les deux Parties contractantes. À moins qu’il n’en soit convenu autrement, la décision du Tribunal devra être rendue dans un délai de six mois à compter de la désignation du président conformément aux paragraphes 3) ou 4) du présent Article. Le Tribunal fixera sa propre procédure. Chaque Partie contractante supportera les frais de son membre du Tribunal et de sa représentation dans la procédure arbitrale; les frais relatifs au président et tous frais restants seront supportés à part égale par les Parties contractantes. Le Tribunal pourra toutefois disposer dans sa décision qu’une proportion plus élevée des frais doit être supportée par l’une des Parties contractantes, et cette disposition sera obligatoire pour les deux Parties contractantes.

ARTICLE XII

Modifications

Le présent Accord peut être modifié par consentement mutuel des Parties contractantes. Les modifications entreront en vigueur à une date dont il sera mutuellement convenu par un échange de notes.

ARTICLE XIII

Autres accords internationaux Lorsqu’une question est visée à la fois par les dispositions du présent Accord et de tout autre accord international liant les deux Parties contractantes, rien dans le présent Accord n’empêchera un investisseur d’une Partie contractante qui a des investissements sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante de bénéficier du régime qui lui est le plus favorable.

ARTICLE XIV

Entrée en vigueur

  1. Le présent Accord entre en vigueur à la date à laquelle les deux Parties contractantes se notifient par écrit l’accomplissement des procédures constitutionnelles requises à cet effet.
  2. Le présent Accord s’applique à tout investissement d’un investisseur de l’une des Parties contractantes sur le territoire de l’autre Partie contractante effectué le 1er janvier 1950 ou après cette date.
  3. Le présent Accord restera en vigueur tant que l’une des Parties contractantes n’aura pas notifié par écrit à l’autre Partie contractante son intention de le dénoncer. L’avis de dénonciation prendra effet un an après la date de sa réception par l’autre Partie contractante. En ce qui concerne les investissements effectués avant la date à laquelle prend effet l’avis de dénonciation, les dispositions des Articles I à XIII inclusivement du présent Accord resteront en vigueur pendant une période de vingt ans.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Moscou le 20e jour de novembre 1989, en français, en anglais et en russe, chaque version faisant également foi.

Brian Mulroney
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA

Nikolai I. Ryzhkov
POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE L’UNION DES RÉPUBLIQUES SOCIALISTES SOVIÉTIQUES